RSS
ClickBank1

Is vintage city guitars a scam?

I just got this email from them on craigs list. It says:
Hello,

I am an owner of a guitar dealership and I am very interested in buying your guitar and can send you a check or paypal right away. If you are interested please CLICK HERE and fill in the form.

Thank you,
Steven

Has anybody encountered this before or have sold a guitar to them before?

I too just recieved the exact response from a craigslist add hours after I posted it. My brain is saying it’s too good to be true.
some googling did turn up the business on the better business bureau

http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084

a forum posting of this same problem confirmed the phone number

"I am the owner of Vintage City Guitars, and we are very interested in buying your guitar. We can send you a check right away. If you are interested please CLICK HERE and fill in the form. Thank you,Steven Jay Owner Vintage City Guitars
Call us at 517.323.9848 between 9am and 3pm EST. "

more forum info

"well, I went to the forms they wanted me to fill out, and they wanted a bunch of info I was not willing to give.

I called them this afternoon and here’s how they say they work:

They send you (after you fill in the forms with address, serial number of guitar, phone etc…) they send you
a UPS or FEDEX slip, you mail them your guitar, they appraise it, and that’s where I had to stop. "

so basically it might not be a scam, but it sure sounds like it. I don’t agree with the way they do business, I don’t think anyone selling a vintage instrument would be willing to mail their guitar money unseen so that they could tell you what they think it’s worth.

I’m gonna say SCAM, and if it’s not, they won’t be in business for very long and they shouldn’t be.

I choose to stay away and I hope you do too.

After finding about 5 more forum topics on this, there doesn’t really seem to be any info saying it’s not a scam.

Good luck selling your guitar

RICS VINTAGE GUITARS PERTH SHOP

No related posts.


One Response to “Is vintage city guitars a scam?”

  1. brianves says:

    I too just recieved the exact response from a craigslist add hours after I posted it. My brain is saying it’s too good to be true.
    some googling did turn up the business on the better business bureau

    http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084

    a forum posting of this same problem confirmed the phone number

    "I am the owner of Vintage City Guitars, and we are very interested in buying your guitar. We can send you a check right away. If you are interested please CLICK HERE and fill in the form. Thank you,Steven Jay Owner Vintage City Guitars
    Call us at 517.323.9848 between 9am and 3pm EST. "

    more forum info

    "well, I went to the forms they wanted me to fill out, and they wanted a bunch of info I was not willing to give.

    I called them this afternoon and here’s how they say they work:

    They send you (after you fill in the forms with address, serial number of guitar, phone etc…) they send you
    a UPS or FEDEX slip, you mail them your guitar, they appraise it, and that’s where I had to stop. "

    so basically it might not be a scam, but it sure sounds like it. I don’t agree with the way they do business, I don’t think anyone selling a vintage instrument would be willing to mail their guitar money unseen so that they could tell you what they think it’s worth.

    I’m gonna say SCAM, and if it’s not, they won’t be in business for very long and they shouldn’t be.

    I choose to stay away and I hope you do too.

    After finding about 5 more forum topics on this, there doesn’t really seem to be any info saying it’s not a scam.

    Good luck selling your guitar
    References :
    http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=589190

    http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084

    http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/178092-vintage-city-guitars-michigan-scammers.html

    this one has 1 response saying he knows the owner and is basically legit, could be the scammer though.
    http://www.guitarlesson.ws/2009/08/has-anyone-used-vintage-city-guitars/

    http://www.ibanezcollectors.com/forum/vintage-and-custom-electrics-and401970s-onlyand41/vintage-city-guitars/?action=printpage

    someone with the user name Vintage City defends himself on this forum topic
    http://www.rig-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=52538

Leave a Reply

This site uses commentluv and keywordluv. Enter YourName@YourKeywords in the Name field and add your QUALITY content to take advantage.CommentLuv Enabled + Do Follow