<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Is vintage city guitars a scam?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.musical-instruments-guitar.net/is-vintage-city-guitars-a-scam/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.musical-instruments-guitar.net/is-vintage-city-guitars-a-scam</link>
	<description>&#34;Electric, Acoustic, Sounds, Equipment, Tips, Tricks + More!&#34;</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 06 Sep 2010 20:09:41 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: brianves</title>
		<link>http://www.musical-instruments-guitar.net/is-vintage-city-guitars-a-scam/comment-page-1#comment-641</link>
		<dc:creator>brianves</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 10 Feb 2010 12:03:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.musical-instruments-guitar.net/vintage-guitars/is-vintage-city-guitars-a-scam#comment-641</guid>
		<description>I too just recieved the exact response from a craigslist add hours after I posted it.  My brain is saying it&#039;s too good to be true.
some googling did turn up the business on the better business bureau

http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084

a forum posting of this same problem confirmed the phone number

&quot;I am the owner of Vintage City Guitars, and we are very interested in buying your guitar. We can send you a check right away. If you are interested please CLICK HERE and fill in the form. Thank you,Steven Jay Owner Vintage City Guitars
Call us at 517.323.9848 between 9am and 3pm EST. &quot;

more forum info  

&quot;well, I went to the forms they wanted me to fill out, and they wanted a bunch of info I was not willing to give.

I called them this afternoon and here&#039;s how they say they work:

They send you (after you fill in the forms with address, serial number of guitar, phone etc...) they send you
a UPS or FEDEX slip, you mail them your guitar, they appraise it, and that&#039;s where I had to stop. &quot;

so basically it might not be a scam,  but it sure sounds like it.  I don&#039;t agree with the way they do business,  I don&#039;t think anyone selling a vintage instrument would be willing to mail their guitar money unseen so that they could tell you what they think it&#039;s worth. 

I&#039;m gonna say SCAM,  and if it&#039;s not,  they won&#039;t be in business for very long and they shouldn&#039;t be.

I choose to stay away and I hope you do too.

After finding about 5 more forum topics on this,  there doesn&#039;t really seem to be any info saying it&#039;s not a scam.

Good luck selling your guitar&lt;br&gt;&lt;b&gt;References : &lt;/b&gt;&lt;br&gt;http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=589190

http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084

http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/178092-vintage-city-guitars-michigan-scammers.html

this one has 1 response saying he knows the owner and is basically legit,  could be the scammer though.
http://www.guitarlesson.ws/2009/08/has-anyone-used-vintage-city-guitars/

http://www.ibanezcollectors.com/forum/vintage-and-custom-electrics-and401970s-onlyand41/vintage-city-guitars/?action=printpage

someone with the user name Vintage City defends himself on this forum topic
http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?t=2410287


http://www.rig-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&amp;t=52538</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I too just recieved the exact response from a craigslist add hours after I posted it.  My brain is saying it&#8217;s too good to be true.<br />
some googling did turn up the business on the better business bureau</p>
<p><a href="http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084">http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084</a></p>
<p>a forum posting of this same problem confirmed the phone number</p>
<p>&quot;I am the owner of Vintage City Guitars, and we are very interested in buying your guitar. We can send you a check right away. If you are interested please CLICK HERE and fill in the form. Thank you,Steven Jay Owner Vintage City Guitars<br />
Call us at 517.323.9848 between 9am and 3pm EST. &quot;</p>
<p>more forum info  </p>
<p>&quot;well, I went to the forms they wanted me to fill out, and they wanted a bunch of info I was not willing to give.</p>
<p>I called them this afternoon and here&#8217;s how they say they work:</p>
<p>They send you (after you fill in the forms with address, serial number of guitar, phone etc&#8230;) they send you<br />
a UPS or FEDEX slip, you mail them your guitar, they appraise it, and that&#8217;s where I had to stop. &quot;</p>
<p>so basically it might not be a scam,  but it sure sounds like it.  I don&#8217;t agree with the way they do business,  I don&#8217;t think anyone selling a vintage instrument would be willing to mail their guitar money unseen so that they could tell you what they think it&#8217;s worth. </p>
<p>I&#8217;m gonna say SCAM,  and if it&#8217;s not,  they won&#8217;t be in business for very long and they shouldn&#8217;t be.</p>
<p>I choose to stay away and I hope you do too.</p>
<p>After finding about 5 more forum topics on this,  there doesn&#8217;t really seem to be any info saying it&#8217;s not a scam.</p>
<p>Good luck selling your guitar<br /><b>References : </b><br /><a href="http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=589190">http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=589190</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084">http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/musical-instruments-dealers/vintage-city-guitars-in-lansing-mi-38123084</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/178092-vintage-city-guitars-michigan-scammers.html">http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/178092-vintage-city-guitars-michigan-scammers.html</a></p>
<p>this one has 1 response saying he knows the owner and is basically legit,  could be the scammer though.<br />
<a href="http://www.guitarlesson.ws/2009/08/has-anyone-used-vintage-city-guitars/">http://www.guitarlesson.ws/2009/08/has-anyone-used-vintage-city-guitars/</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.ibanezcollectors.com/forum/vintage-and-custom-electrics-and401970s-onlyand41/vintage-city-guitars/?action=printpage">http://www.ibanezcollectors.com/forum/vintage-and-custom-electrics-and401970s-onlyand41/vintage-city-guitars/?action=printpage</a></p>
<p>someone with the user name Vintage City defends himself on this forum topic<br />
<a href="http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?t=2410287">http://www.rig-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&amp;t=52538</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
